Children & Young People

From 1 April 2016, the ACT Human Rights Commission will encompass its existing functions, as well as the functions of the Victims of Crime Commissioner and advocacy functions of the Public Advocate.

The Children and Young People Commissioner (CYPC) and Public Advocate (PA) are independent statutory offices created under the Human Rights Commission Act 2005. This means that the CYPC and PA are funded by the ACT Government, but is independent from the Government.

The CYPC has a number of roles, including:

Put simply, the role of the CYPC is to help make Canberra a better place for children and young people.

If you would like to know more, or you would like to talk with the CYPC, please phone 6205 2222, or email

Or, you can visit the CYPC at Level 4, 12 Moore Street, Canberra City (near the Jolimont Centre on Northbourne Avenue).

The CYPC is open between 9.00am – 5.00pm, Monday to Friday.

From 1 April to 1 May, Gabrielle McKinnon is acting Public Advocate and Children & Young People Commissioner. Jodie Griffiths-Cook will take on the role from 2 May 2016.

More information about the Public Advocate is at the