Commission Restructure

From 1 April 2016, the ACT Human Rights Commission expanded to include the functions of the Victims of Crime Commissioner and advocacy functions of the Public Advocate. The following statutory office holders have been appointed:

  • President and Human Rights Commissioner – Dr Helen Watchirs;
  • Victims of Crime Commissioner (and Domestic Violence Project Coordinator) – Heidi Yates;
  • Public Advocate and Children & Young People Commissioner – Jodie Griffiths-Cook;
  • Discrimination, Health Services, and Disability & Community Services Commissioner – Karen Toohey.

More information is available in this message from the Attorney General and the HRC’s legislation as amended.

The Commission has also relocated to larger premises at level 2 of 11 Moore Street Canberra.